The Art of the Journal

561639_51163248One of the things that work for me is journaling. I have kept a journal since I was in high school. So for me that means I have more then 20 years of journals. Now I haven’t been perfect. I haven’t written every day, not even every month, but they are there and record much of my life.

I can look back and see where and how  I made some of the major choices in my life. I can see how I felt about people in my life in very uncensored ways that bring joy and reflection. I can see how I felt about the birth of my child, that very first night at home. I can see my anguish as I went through divorce. I can see so much that is inside me by simply picking up one of my journals.

Want to get into journaling? This is all you need

  • a good hard book that will last
  • a good pen
  • time

Journalling helps you to deal and learn what is really going on in your own lives. For me I also am able to track major life events. For me when I journal I date my entries. I also take the time to let the words flow. For me I write about the details and about non details as well. For me as I reflect on what I have often just put to paper it allows me a better glance at what lies at the core. My journal is my place of utter honesty. It also is a real legacy of who I am at the core.

So my challenge to you is why not journal? Now after writing this I am off to my friend at Rocks in My Dryer to see what works for everyone else!

1 Response to “The Art of the Journal”


  1. 1 Clarissa January 16, 2009 at 11:54 am

    I love to journal too. I have just started to do so again after a 5 year gap. What I lack is making the time. With two small children I am still very much “hands on” throughout the day, and by the evening I am just too tired. BUT It is such a great decompression tool… even if I only get a few partial entries… I’ll still try to make that pen hit the book. Thanks for the inspiration 🙂


Leave a Reply

